Coat-of-arms of Republic of SloveniaRepublic of Slovenia
15 Years of Slovenian StateSlovensko

Fifteen Years of Slovenian State

Slovenia is celebrating fifteen years of independence. On 25 June 1991 the Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia implemented the outcome of the plebiscite in favour of independence, and adopted the Constitutional Act Implementing the Basic Constitutional Charter on the Independence and Sovereignty of the Republic of Slovenia, and the Declaration of Independence. Thus Slovenia obtained de jure sovereignty, which was solemnly proclaimed on 26 June in Trg republike Square in Ljubljana. The following day, the Ten-Day War began. During the fighting, diplomatic efforts to solve the crisis continued, leading to the signing of the Brioni Agreement on 7 July 1991. The Yugoslav People's Army left Slovenia on 25 October 1991.

At the end of the moratorium stipulated by the Brioni Agreement Slovenia de facto became an independent state by introducing her own currency, establishing border control, and passing the Constitution on 23 December 1991. On 22 May 1992, Slovenia became a full member of the United Nations, in May next year she was admitted to the Council of Europe, and in May 2004 she joined the European Union.

In fifteen years, Slovenia has overcome demanding challenges, built new political and economic systems and achieved recognition throughout the world. The country has successfully completed the tasks she set herself on the day she became independent, and today, Slovenia is a respectable member of the international community, which will shortly take over the preseidency of the European Union.